Prize Honors Books That Open, Challenge Minds

Anisfield-Wolf websiteThe Anisfield-Wolf Book Awards recognize books that have made important contributions to our understanding of racism and our appreciation of the rich diversity of human cultures. For 78 years, the distinguished books earning Anisfield-Wolf prizes have opened and challenged our minds. Cleveland poet and philanthropist Edith Anisfield Wolf established the book prizes in 1935, in honor of her father, John Anisfield, and her husband, Eugene Wolf, to reflect her family’s passion for issues of social justice. Today it remains the only American book prize focusing on works that address racism and diversity. The annual awards are administered by the Cleveland Foundation. For more information, visit the Anisfield-Wolf Book Awards website.

Meet the 2013 Winners

“The 2013 Anisfield-Wolf winners are exemplars who broaden our vision of race and diversity,” said Henry Louis Gates Jr., the Alphonse Fletcher University Professor and director of the W.E.B. Du Bois Institute for African and African-American Research at Harvard University, who serves as jury chair. “This year, there is exceptional writing about the war in Iraq, slavery on a Kentucky pig farm, the Filipino experience in the U.S., and the complexity of families in which a child is radically different from parents.”

Our 2013 winners are (click on any of the photos to read more on the authors):

About Anisfield-Wolf Winner 2013 HuntAbout Anisfield-Wolf Winner 2013 PowersAbout Anisfield-Wolf Winner 2013 GloriaAbout Anisfield-Wolf Winner 2013 SolomonAbout Anisfield-Wolf Winner 2013 Soyinka